Posted in Sport


The sport of rugby began at Rugby School in Warwickshire in the 18th century. There was no limit to the number of players on each side and very few rules. In 1823, a Lancashire lad named William Webb Ellis (1806-72) decided to run whilst holding the ball, which had not been done before. Other boys’ schools had their own forms of football, but it was Rugby’s version, with Webb Ellis’s variation, which caught on.

Watch out for Prince Harry and England rugby hero Jonny Wilkinson in this dramatisation of the foundation of the sport of rugby:-