The Commonwealth of Nations

One-third of the world’s population live in a member state of The Commonwealth of Nations, previously known as the British Commonwealth. These states are:

Antigua & Barbuda Nauru
Australia New Zealand
Bangladesh Nigeria
Barbados Pakistan
Belize Papua New Guinea
Botswana Rwanda
Brunei St. Kitts & Nevis
Cameroon St. Lucia
Canada St. Vincent & the Grenadines
Cyprus Samoa
Dominica Seychelles
Fiji Sierra Leone
Ghana Singapore
Grenada Solomon Islands
Guyana South Africa
India Sri Lanka
Jamaica Swaziland
Kenya Tanzania
Kiribati The Bahamas
Lesotho The United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland
Malaysia Tongo
Maldives Trinidad & Tobago
Malta Tuvalu
Mauritius Uganda
Mawli Vanuatu
Mozambique Zambia

All of these have ties to the UK in one way or another; most of them were part of the British Empire. The Commonwealth was established in 1926 with the aim of maintaining friendships, democratic standards, consular service and developmental assistance.

Membership of the Commonwealth network is voluntary, but there are criteria that must be met. These cover a shared set of values: democracy, the rule of law, human rights, free trade, liberty, equality and peace-seeking. A nation can be suspended for violating these. The head of the Commonwealth is the British monarch and the official language is English.

(Image: Commonwealth Secretariat at / CC BY-NC 2.0)

Copying is not enabled.